3 Comments

“DeadLocked”

A night spent with Charlaine Harris is always a good thing.

The twelfth installment of the Sookie Stackhouse series was released yesterday. I attempted to obtain a copy at midnight, but no local stores were hosting any kind of special release event (Shame on you Wal-Mart, Wallgreens, and Hastings). I suppose books – with Harry Potter as the exception – don’t have the associated mania that movies and video games draw. Instead after work, my hubby me bought a copy (good man). I spent from six to ten last night reading. I could have stayed up all night and finished the book, but I want to savor it. Already to the halfway point, I must say, I am LOVING the book. I am a huge fan of Mrs. Harris, but some books appeal to me more than others. ‘Dead to the World’ is a particular favorite, while ‘Dead and Gone’ didn’t thrill me. I won’t give any spoilers away. I’ll just summarize that the story is very well constructed and fast paced. Sookie is currently with Eric (as she was at the end of ‘Dead in the Family’) but there are issues in their relationship. Bill is ever present at the periphery. I can’t wait to read more to see what develops. I am not a member of either camp: Team Eric or Team Bill. I love them both, but differently, much as I believe Sookie does.

I do watch the TV series ‘True Blood’.  Friends/Family that watch the show but don’t read the books often ask me questions. They think I have some insight on where the show will go. I enjoy it, as long I don’t compare it to the books.The first season was a close match, but the train has long since left the track. I enjoy it, as long I don’t compare it to the books. I found it annoying, and slightly rude, when at an event hosted by a book club with Charlaine Harris as the headliner, most of the questions centered on the show. I wouldn’t expect Alan Ball to answer questions about the next Sookie novel.

I intend to finish ‘Deadlocked’ today or tomorrow. I will re-read it over the next few months. I usually do since I initially read through so quickly. Another Sookie short is due in September as part of the ‘Apple for Creature’ Anthology. Then the count down begins for the final book in May.

I always welcome comments, but today I’d like a real discussion. Any other Sookie fans out there? What’s your fav/least fav book in the series? Do you read any other series by Charlaine Harris (Auora Teagarden, Lily Bard or Harper Connelly)?

But the question I am most interested in is…What do you predict or fear will happen in the last book? I have my own thoughts but I’d love to hear your ideas.

3 comments on ““DeadLocked”

  1. I think a new sane relationship will start in the last book. I’m excited to see how the series will end. I will definitely look out for the short story. I loved the series. I read book 4 of the series 5 times. I absolutely loved that story.

  2. I’ve often thought the same thing. Sookie has been through so much with all the guys (Eric, Bill, Alcide, even Quinn). It seems very difficult to pick back up any of the relationships. She almost HAS to have a fresh start with someone “normal” (or at least with less baggage)

  3. […] Deadlocked Rate this:Share this:Like this:LikeBe the first to like this. Tags: books, Charlaine Harris, Fiction, paranormal romance, vampire, Vocabulary, were, world-building, writing Permalink […]

Leave a Reply

