2 Comments

Why do we Hate our Heroes?

I have tortured, beaten and murdered. I have starved, neglected and abandoned. I don’t know what compels me to do these things. Why I feel they have to happen.

And I have done these things to those whom I care for.

I love my characters, so why do I make ‘bad things’ happen to them. Why does any writer? and why do we keep reading? Self-esteem issues and tragic pasts are common themes of urban fantasy. Do we see ourselves in fiction? Do we hope for the same chance at redemption?

Each story has that gut wrenching moment. It is the moment of redemption, of pain. It is when you know whatever happens next, will decide everything.

My characters are as flawed as they are cherished. They exist in a reality as layered and dynamic as our own. There is goodness, as well as evil. My characters do not exist in a vacuum. They did not spring into life just as I started to write. (Okay, so maybe they came into existence the moment I thought them up.) They have life experiences that make them who they are. How they handle the trials and hardships in their stories determine what kind of hero they will be.

Is it almost ironic that with complete creative license I still create imperfect worlds…probably.

The only answer I can think of is…If I wrote a utopia; It would be very brief and very, very dull.

2 comments on “Why do we Hate our Heroes?

  1. That is absolutely right. Plots are driven by conflict, and we live in an imperfect world with imperfect people, so we experience conflict in our own lives as well. What makes the story satisfying to when we see our characters rise above the conflict.

    • That’s how I feel, too. Yet I just had to blog about the difficulty we face as writers. I’m very attached to my characters (and I have done some pretty terrible things to them)

Leave a Reply

