37 Comments

NaNoWriMo got me started but…

It is the middle of November. Turkey Day is around the corner and ‘Black Friday‘ Ads are already running. For those of you participating in the National Novel Writing Month event, it also means you are at the halfway mark.

I haven’t left the starting position.

I came across NaNoWriMo through posts and social media in the last week of October. The idea held immediate appeal to me, even knowing it was extremely unlikely I would ‘win’ the event. Despite that, I made a profile on the NaNoWriMo site with basic information and optimism.

I currently have 1,725 or one day’s worth of words. With two weeks and a major holiday left to write, I have accepted I will miss the mark. Yet, I don’t concede defeat. Just thinking about writing a novel, sparked a completely original idea. I don’t have a manuscript but that doesn’t mean I don’t have a story.

For the first time in my writing, I have a true outline. Usually I just wing it. But this story feels more grown up and I want to do it right. My outline is quite detailed as a chronological list, plus I have a list of ‘governing rules’. There are supernatural elements to the story. Traditional rules of logic may not apply but there are still rules that must be followed. (I found such a list and setting parameters early on help my writing and make paranormal elements more consistent/more believable.) I have collected snippets and scenes I want to include as I ponder the novel. I have built a rich narrative in my head, now comes the trials of getting it on paper.

I stand by my status as an ‘Accidental Author’. I write what and when I want. And only for myself. My family (hubby especially) have been incredibly supportive. But there is no pressure. I will complete my novel, born from NaNoWriMo enthusiasm…it just might take me a year…or two. 🙂

[If you would like to read the beginning of my story visit my ‘Writing Desk’ Page]

Related articles

37 comments on “NaNoWriMo got me started but…

  1. Writing is the ultimate expression of you. It absolutely HAS to be you.

  2. Welcome to NaNo! It’s a really great motivational tool to keep you accountable for daily writing (at least for the month!). Good luck and don’t get discouraged because you’re starting late. 😀 I’m fissionerror on the official site as well; if you’d like to add me as a buddy I’d be happy to check out your work and be a cheerleader.

  3. Thanks for the ping! Good luck with NaNo! 🙂

  4. Thank you for pinging me! I’m at nearly half my word count, but a few thousand behind; I’ve been rebuilding my desktop computer, and it’s a bit of a distraction. But I have confidence i’ll win. You may not finish at 50K this time (but you still might! I’ve known it to happen), but it’s great to see your enthusiasm for writing and for NaNoWriMo! If you want to add me as a NaNo buddy, I’m TammyJRizzo there, too. Welcome to the madness! 🙂

  5. […] NaNoWriMo got me started but… (bcsirrom.wordpress.com) […]

  6. […] NaNoWriMo got me started but… (bcsirrom.wordpress.com) […]

  7. Yay! That’s what NaNo is for, to get you going. Sounds like you have a good start!

  8. […] NaNoWriMo got me started but… (bcsirrom.wordpress.com) […]

  9. […] NaNoWriMo got me started but… (bcsirrom.wordpress.com) […]

  10. […] NaNoWriMo got me started but… (bcsirrom.wordpress.com) […]

  11. […] NaNoWriMo got me started but… (bcsirrom.wordpress.com) […]

  12. […] NaNoWriMo got me started but… (bcsirrom.wordpress.com) […]

  13. […] NaNoWriMo got me started but… (bcsirrom.wordpress.com) […]

  14. […] NaNoWriMo got me started but… (bcsirrom.wordpress.com) […]

  15. […] NaNoWriMo got me started but… (bcsirrom.wordpress.com) […]

  16. […] NaNoWriMo got me started but… (bcsirrom.wordpress.com) […]

  17. […] NaNoWriMo got me started but… (bcsirrom.wordpress.com) […]

  18. […] NaNoWriMo got me started but… (bcsirrom.wordpress.com) […]

  19. […] NaNoWriMo got me started but… (bcsirrom.wordpress.com) […]

  20. […] NaNoWriMo got me started but… (bcsirrom.wordpress.com) […]

  21. […] NaNoWriMo got me started but… (bcsirrom.wordpress.com) […]

  22. […] NaNoWriMo got me started but… (bcsirrom.wordpress.com) […]

  23. […] NaNoWriMo got me started but… (bcsirrom.wordpress.com) […]

  24. […] NaNoWriMo got me started but… (bcsirrom.wordpress.com) […]

  25. […] NaNoWriMo got me started but… (bcsirrom.wordpress.com) […]

  26. […] NaNoWriMo got me started but… (bcsirrom.wordpress.com) […]

  27. […] NaNoWriMo got me started but… (bcsirrom.wordpress.com) […]

  28. […] NaNoWriMo got me started but… (bcsirrom.wordpress.com) […]

  29. […] NaNoWriMo got me started but… (bcsirrom.wordpress.com) […]

  30. […] NaNoWriMo got me started but… (bcsirrom.wordpress.com) […]

  31. […] NaNoWriMo got me started but… (bcsirrom.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

