1 Comment

I am Thankful ‘Black Friday’ Weekend is OVER.

I have tried to brace myself for this moment. I knew it was coming since Halloween. The Frenzy. The Annoying Commercials.
It is Here.

Black Friday.

In my mind, it is appropriately named, not for the original allusion to the financial expression of ‘being in the black’ as a good sales day could put a company ‘in the black’ for the year. Instead the black in my Black Friday is akin to the plague. Shared amongst friends and family it is spread until everyone feels compelled to abandon their holiday tables and join the mob at Target.

This year Black Friday seeped into our Thanksgiving Thursday with ‘doorbusters’ kicking of at eight and ten. I wonder how early a person had to excuse himself from his mother’s kitchen to claim his position in line. I am a thrifty person and appreciate a good deal like most people. If Black Friday occurred in the middle of September, safely away from my beloved Thanksgiving, I wouldn’t be so bothered. Nevertheless, it has encroached upon hallowed ground.

On Black Friday I stay home. Or like last November 23rd my parent’s home, a convenient hour drive from all commercial shopping. But Black Friday is relentless. It stretches across the whole weekend with a weak disguise of ‘Shop-Local’ Saturday. Cyber Monday is gaining popularity, but the frenzy as fizzled. People shopping on-line while they work is unexceptional.

In the wake of the buying and selling, I probably sound like a cranky old lady, but I love Thanksgiving. It is a pure family holiday. Good Food. No pressure to buy gifts. And I believe my family would rather spend time with me on that day than know I’m out buying them a really good present instead.

Things I am Thankful for This Year

  • My job. Sounds simple but I was laid-off last year. I now have a job I *surprise* enjoy and has benefits.
  • My creative projects for when the job feels too much like work.
  • My Family. All of them. They can be difficult, stressful and annoying but also funny, sweet and kind. I love them.
  • At 27, I am blessed to still have my grandmother and she is fit enough to still host the holiday dinners.
  • My husband’s unconditional love. No matter if I’m wrong, grumpy, sick, fat, or moody, he loves me. And I love him just the same.
One comment on “I am Thankful ‘Black Friday’ Weekend is OVER.

  1. “In the wake of the buying and selling, I probably sound like a cranky old lady, but I love Thanksgiving. It is a pure family holiday. Good Food. No pressure to buy gifts.”

    This, exactly this. Regardless of the checkered nature of Thanksgiving’s origin mythos, for me it’s always been a day to just BE with family, with no expectations other than everyone sitting down for a few hours.

Leave a Reply

