1 Comment

November

Sunday marks twelve years I have succeeded in not killing my husband (and he has not killed me). It’s not our wedding anniversary – the big 10 year one is in June – it will be the day we ‘officially’ started dating. We were kinda seeing each other the week prior, but he didn’t ask if we were dating until the 17th. We were one of the lucky couples that didn’t change much with marriage (if anything things got ‘easier’ or as ‘easy’ as any relationship can be). So basically we have been together for 12 years – but we only have paperwork for the last decade.

In romance novels the story ends when the girl gets the guy. Except for the epilogue chapter usually featuring offspring, the heroine’s troubles are over. The couple lives happily ever after. Real life is different. The getting together part is barely the first chapter for the real story. Real life ironically is closer to the pop song by Pink:

At the same time, I wanna hug you
I wanna wrap my hands around your neck

Sometimes I hate every single stupid word you say
Sometimes I wanna slap you in your whole face
There’s no one quite like you
You push all my buttons down
I know life would suck without you

– PINK (True Love, Lyrics)

Some days he drives me nuts; other days its my turn. For example, I forget my various usernames and passwords (hey! I only need my Apple ID when I get a new device every 2 years). And he NEVER changes the toilet paper roll. He will get a new roll from the cabinet and set it next to the spent roll, but that does not count. But most days are really good. He writes me a funny, sweet poem, finds cute YouTube videos he knows I will like, or surprises me with a very thoughtful gift or gesture. I heroically save lost fishing bobbers by precariously climbing out on fallen logs in a lake (true story), hide surprises in his lunch and most importantly don’t kill him. 🙂

 

One comment on “November

  1. Date: Wed, 13 Nov 2013 19:38:27 +0000 To: jfr_wright@hotmail.com

Leave a Reply

