Leave a comment

Fool’s Resolutions

It is hard to stick to a resolution you make in the dead of winter. It’s cold, snowy (or worse rainy); everything is pretty much grey.

Also, I am still wearing 3 layers of clothes and only shaving my legs when I disgust myself. Bikini season is very far away on the horizon but leftover Christmas goodies are still in the kitchen.

Spring is much better at holding me accountable. It strips me of my most solid excuse: “It’s already dark when I get home, guess I”ll watch TV and veg out.” Plus seeing the pale bits of me sticking out of shorts and sleeves has me re-thinking what’s in the lunchbox. So I’m trying something new, Fool’s Year Resolutions.

The origin of April’s Fools is commonly believed to be around 1581 when In 1582, Pope Gregory XIII ordered the Gregorian Calendar to replace the old Julian Calendar. The new calendar called for New Year’s Day to be celebrated Jan. 1. That year, France adopted the reformed calendar and shifted New Year’s day to Jan. 1. According to a popular explanation, many people either refused to accept the new date, or did not learn about it, and continued to celebrate New Year’s Day on April 1. Personally, I understand the old April’s Fools. It pairs well with my understanding of the seasons: Spring – re-birth, awaking from dormancy, Summer – flourish and grow, Fall – go to seed, harvest, and Winter –

I am working in reverse. Or at least applying the modern New Year’s attitude of self-improvement back to a better suited season, Spring. Metaphorically, it is a time of rejuvenation. But practically, it means more daylight hours, warmer temps and greater availability of fruits and veggies. I can just focus on what we all promise every time the ball drops: To Eat Better, Exercise More, Be Healthier…..

Leave a Reply

