Leave a comment

I Need a New Plan

At the end of the Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory (1971), Mr. Wonka reminds Charlie, “don’t forget what happened to the man who suddenly got everything he always wanted”…He lived happily ever after.”

I find myself in the somewhat less fanciful shoes of the fictional man. I’ve had the same goal and plan for decade. This month saw the culmination of years of school, study, stress and a little luck. I am ‘living-happily-ever-after’ but the credits only roll one final time in real life. Hopefully, that is far, far in my future; I need a new plan in the meantime. I have some ideas professionally but nothing with the laser precision of my earlier plans. I want to do more with literature, like write another book (or finish one of the half-dozen I have started). My mind races with creative outlets. I want to return to drawing and develop my painting. Sites like pintrest and craftgawker offer thousands of ways to craft or re-fab. In my personal life, things are happily-ever-after-awesome. The husband and I can make any ordinary day epic. Our relationship is fun, exciting, comfortable, loving…but also stable. We aren’t pursuing an end. I don’t want to think about an ‘end’.

Most of my new pursuits are ongoing interests or hobbies. But I am lacking the next big finish line. Since the age of cognisance, I’ve been asked ‘what do you want to be when you grow up?’ Now, I have to determine, what is the next question.

 

Leave a Reply

